Austin Wizard World Comic Con!!!!

Wow! Wizard World Comic Con in Austin was super fun! All the people I would have been really interested to see (Matt Smith, Karen Gillan, Nichelle Nichols) all cancelled, so we mostly just looked at booths and people watched.  It was a pretty small convention in my mind, but it was my first so I still had fun.  Here are some of the sights:

 

Doctor Who:

Me as Female 10th Doctor

So here’s me in my female 10th Doctor costume (purposely done in a more Steampunk style, because that’s our group costume theme for Halloween.  My friend next to me is the only other one who wore a costume.  (Don’t worry.  Despite wearing a red shirt, he survived the day.) I had tons of people asking me for pictures, so I feel my costume was worth the two and a half weeks it took to sew it!

20141004_115919

An awesome car sticker that I would have bought but it’s one of those…ya know…permanent ones.

20141004_120223

I took a picture with pretty much every 10th Doctor I could find.  There were a LOT more of the 11th (and they were much more easy to find in bow ties and fezes).  Here’s one of the few, the proud, the Tennants.

20141004_123517

These two were promoting a musical called “Stalking John Barrowman” that’s coming to Austin in January.  Definitely going to be seeing that… I love the little Adipose on her shoulder!

20141004_131443

Are you my mummy?

20141004_130313

Walking Dead (I think) meets Doctor Who.  I later saw a zombie 10th Doctor with them but it was later on after I had already taken the picture.

20141004_124147

I fight a Cyberman.  I think this wins the prize for most authentic-looking Doctor Who-themed costume in my book.

20141004_122526

This is an entire family I saw unloading while we were waiting in line to get in.  When I saw them again later I had to get a picture with them.  They had a TARDIS, an 11th Doctor, a Cyberman, the Impossible Astronaut, two Weeping Angels (one’s behind the other) and….mom? I don’t know if she was supposed to be anyone, but the clothes could have been Donna’s.  I don’t know, but I don’t care, because the family that cosplays together, stays together.

 

Other Awesome Stuff:

20141004_122040

Lucius Malfoy.  I saw him earlier in the day but didn’t get the reference at first because I was far away.  Later when we crossed paths I saw the cane and just knew.  He was smiling until right up to when I took the picture and he gave the most perfect Malfoy expression.

20141004_121734

A Splicer and a Little Sister from the Bioshock video game series.  If you look at the full-sized picture, you will see that the Splicer’s got bits of sprayed blood all over him.  Soooooooo well done!

20141004_123945

Another Bioshock reference, this time Bioshock Infinite.  We’ve got Booker and Elizabeth.  Yes, his weapon actually spins like in the game.

20141004_122941

Merida from Brave with a kick-ass bow.

20141004_123223

Kaylee from Firefly.  Shiny! There was another Kaylee I saw but she didn’t have the parasol.

20141004_121638

Bill Lumbergh from Office Space.  After people took pictures with him, he told them, “Yeaaaaaaah, I’m going to go ahead and have you come in tomorrow.”

20141004_124735

Maleficent a la the Angelina Jolie version.  Real feathers!

20141004_124649

I wanted a picture of the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man from Ghostbusters but I also got a shot of this guy dressed as SuperTarget, a superhero of his own design (unless there’s a reference I’m missing.) He has an actual nametag from Target that has a label-maker sticky on top of it saying “Super” and a pricing gun.  He walked around yelling, “I’m here to save you….from high prices!”

20141004_130222

This wins the award for most accurate non-Doctor-Who costume in my book: two serpent guards from Stargate SG-1  The female Jaffa actually had a zat gun autographed by most of the cast!

20141004_130035

Zoidberg Jesus from Futurama.  Points for going as Zoidberg.  Bonus points for having it be a really good Zoidberg costume.  Bazillion million points for going as an obscure reference from the show.

20141004_130855

Wolverine from X-Men, or (more appropriately), Logan.  Hugh Jackman would be proud.

Leave a Reply

