Gryffindor Notice Board

Gryffindor Notice Board

(Click image for full-size)

This is an old one, pulled from the depths of a hard drive three computers ago.  I made this in the lull between Harry Potter movies or books waiting to be released (I think it was before Order of the Phoenix came out in the theaters, because I’m pretty sure that is a terrible publicity shot I used for the Quibbler cover).  I dusted it off and tweaked it a bit using what I know about Photoshop now compared to when I made it.   There’s still some things I don’t like about it that I’d have to start over in order to fix (the textures are a little over-the-top, for one).

In any case, I came up with this idea because I realized that Order of the Phoenix has a ton of written material like Daily Prophet articles, Educational Decrees, etc.  When I started to assemble literally everything that was posted on the Gryffindor notice board (in Order of the Phoenix only), I realized that it actually makes a very accurate summary of the fifth book.  The items are posted in layers in order of when they occurred.  For example, the Educational Decrees start piling up until the one about the Quibbler being banned, then the students hang up the Quibbler on the notice board, and then the last one about Umbridge becoming headmaster is on top of that.  All modesty aside, I’m pretty proud that at least my bulletin board is true to the book, if not to reality in art.

And can I just say that Harry’s hair is just horrendously short in Order of the Phoenix? Blech.  (Sorry, Dan.)

Leave a Reply

