The Many Deaths of Neville Longbottom – Episode 1

The Boy Who Lived

I came up with the concept of The Many Deaths of Neville Longbottom several years ago, originally envisioning it to be an alternative universe story set in J.K. Rowling’s world of the Harry Potter books.  Basically, it stems from the Dumbledore’s quote as stated in the comic, that the Chosen One could have been Neville.  However, Voldemort chose Harry and “marked him as his equal” and Neville was spared this fate.  So, using classic multiverse theory, I decided to branch the history as written.  Voldemort chooses Neville instead (with hilarious circumstances).  I don’t recall when exactly I drew this comic (or the ones I will post in future), but surely it must have been before the awesomeness that is Neville during the Battle of Hogwarts, otherwise I don’t think I would have envisioned a comic in which I continually show all the ways Neville could have met his tragic end if he hadn’t had Harry’s luck.

Anyway, this comic is based in the idea that Neville, unlike Harry, might not have been saved by the power of his mother’s love, sacrificing herself for Neville as Lily Potter had done for her son.  That’s not to say Alice Longbottom might not have done the same.  Canon tells us that the Longbottoms weren’t tortured into madness until almost a year after Voldemort’s downfall.  But they were both Aurors and in the Order of the Phoenix.  They might have been out on duty for the Ministry or the Order, and Neville could have been with a nanny or babysitter.  The only reason the Potters had been in hiding was because someone (*cough cough* Snape *cough cough*) warned Dumbledore about the prophesy and Voldemort’s decision to kill Harry.  Of course, Snape only turned traitor because he loved Lily Potter and didn’t want any harm to come to her or her son.  I can’t imagine that would have happened for poor Alice, so there would have been no warning, no Fidelius Charm, no nothing.

Sorry if this explanation kills the humor of the comic.  (They always say if you explain a joke, it loses its humor.  But if I can’t write this on my blog, then where can I write it?) It’s a bit grim, I grant you, but I assure you Neville will  be alive and well in the next installment (whenever that may be).

Leave a Reply

